Why do teams look for ApprovalMax alternatives?
Usually because of how ApprovalMax is priced, sold or scoped, as set out on ApprovalMax’s own pages.
- ApprovalMax is an approval tool: bill-to-PO matching and goods received notes start on its Advanced plan. [source: ApprovalMax for QuickBooks Online pricing]
- It lists three accounting systems: Xero, QuickBooks Online and Oracle NetSuite. [source: ApprovalMax integrations]
- Plan prices were not displayed on its pricing page when we checked; plans are per organisation and sized by approved documents. [source: ApprovalMax for Xero pricing]
- ApprovalMax Pay is UK-only on Xero. [source: ApprovalMax for Xero pricing]
ApprovalMax and its alternatives compared
Pricing model, trial, purchase-order matching, accounting system coverage and target company size, side by side.
| Tool | Pricing | Free trial | PO and 3-way matching | ERP and accounting coverage | Built for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ApprovalMaxApproval workflow add-on | Per organisation (Standard, Advanced, Premium, sized by approved documents), unlimited users; prices not displayed on the page we checked [source: ApprovalMax for Xero pricing] | 14-day free trial on Xero plans, no credit card [source: ApprovalMax for Xero pricing] | PO approval on every plan; bill-to-PO matching and goods received notes on Advanced and Premium [source: ApprovalMax for QuickBooks Online pricing] | Xero, QuickBooks Online and Oracle NetSuite [source: ApprovalMax integrations] | Finance teams and outsourced accountants; company size not stated [source: ApprovalMax integrations] |
| BILLBill pay and AP platform | $49 (Essentials), $65 (Team) or $89 (Corporate) per user a month; Enterprise custom; ACH $0.59, check $1.99 [source: BILL pricing] | "A free trial available in most cases"; length not stated [source: BILL pricing] | POs with 2-way matching on Corporate; 2- and 3-way matching on Enterprise; Procurement add-on on Essentials and Team [source: BILL pricing] | QuickBooks Online, Pro, Premier and Xero (CSV on Essentials, automatic 2-way sync from Team); NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics and others on Enterprise [source: BILL pricing] | Small businesses and midsize companies [source: BILL home page] |
| RampSpend management with bill pay | Free $0; Plus $15 per user a month plus a platform fee based on team size; Enterprise quoted [source: Ramp pricing] | Free plan; no trial stated [source: Ramp pricing] | 2-way and 3-way matching described on its AP page; Ramp-issued POs and 3-way match sit in the Procurement add-on (Plus and Enterprise) [source: Ramp accounts payable] | QuickBooks Online and Xero on Free; NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Business Central on Plus; also lists Zoho Books [source: Ramp pricing] | Small businesses, mid-sized companies and multi-entity organizations [source: Ramp accounts payable] |
| MelioVendor payments | Go free (1 user); Core $25, Boost $55, Unlimited $80 a month; Platinum custom; ACH $0.50 beyond the plan allowance, card 2.9% [source: Melio pricing] | Free Go plan; paid plans free for the first 90 days [source: Melio pricing] | Not mentioned on its pricing or home page [source: Melio pricing] | QuickBooks Online and Xero from Core, QuickBooks Desktop from Boost, NetSuite on Unlimited [source: Melio pricing] | Small and midsize businesses, multi-entity businesses and accounting firms [source: Melio home page] |
| Aequo APAP automation (capture, matching, approvals) | $199 (Starter), $699 (Growth) or $1,999 (Scale) a month; Enterprise quoted; unlimited users, no per-transaction fees | 14-day free trial | 2-way matching on every plan; 3-way matching from Growth | QuickBooks Online, Xero, FreshBooks, Zoho Books and Business Central live; Oracle NetSuite and Sage Intacct in early access | SMB and mid-market finance teams |
Which alternative fits which team?
There is no single best choice; each tool is built for a different job.
- BILL: For approvals plus bill pay at published per-user prices.
- Ramp: For configurable approvals and bill pay on a free plan.
- Melio: For low-cost vendor payments with custom approvals from its Core plan.
- Aequo AP: For teams that also need invoices read, matched to POs and receipts and worked through an exception queue.
When is ApprovalMax the better choice?
Stay with ApprovalMax, or choose it, if one of these describes you.
- Bills already reach Xero or QuickBooks Online accurately and approvals are the only gap. Multi-step approvals are on every ApprovalMax plan, with unlimited users. [source: ApprovalMax for Xero pricing]
- You are on NetSuite and want approvals now; ApprovalMax has a NetSuite plan. [source: ApprovalMax integrations]
- You also want purchase orders approved before they are sent; PO approval is on every ApprovalMax plan. [source: ApprovalMax for QuickBooks Online pricing]
When is Aequo AP not the right fit?
Aequo AP is AP automation for SMB and mid-market teams: capture, PO matching, approvals and exceptions. It is the wrong choice in these cases.
- You enter a handful of bills a month and one person approves them. Your accounting system's own bill features are probably enough; Aequo AP's Starter plan covers up to 250 documents a month.
- You want one tool that also pays vendors today. Aequo AP vendor payments are coming soon; until then you pay approved bills from your accounting system or bank.
- You need a generally available connector for an ERP other than QuickBooks Online, Xero, FreshBooks, Zoho Books and Business Central. Oracle NetSuite and Sage Intacct are in early access for selected teams, and Acumatica, SAP Business One and QuickBooks Desktop are in development.
Frequently asked questions
What are the best ApprovalMax alternatives?
The main ApprovalMax alternatives are BILL, Ramp and Melio, which combine bill approvals with vendor payments, and Aequo AP, which combines approvals with invoice capture, PO matching and an exception queue. If you only need simple sign-off, check the approval features already in Xero or QuickBooks Online first.
How much does ApprovalMax cost?
ApprovalMax prices per organisation with unlimited users, in Standard, Advanced and Premium plans sized by approved documents, with a 14-day free trial on Xero plans. The plan prices were not displayed on its pricing page when we checked (approvalmax.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-30).
Is there an ApprovalMax alternative for Business Central, FreshBooks or Zoho Books?
ApprovalMax lists Xero, QuickBooks Online and Oracle NetSuite. Aequo AP connects to QuickBooks Online, Xero, FreshBooks, Zoho Books and Business Central, and Ramp lists Business Central and Zoho Books.
Does ApprovalMax match bills to purchase orders?
Yes, on its Advanced and Premium plans for Xero and QuickBooks Online, which match bills to POs and receipts to spot discrepancies before approval (approvalmax.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-30).
Can I approve bills in Xero or QuickBooks Online without an add-on?
Xero controls who can create and approve bills through user roles, and says a more flexible approvals workflow is planned for later in 2026. QuickBooks Online offers a bill approval workflow to Bill Pay Elite customers, and its pricing page lists approval workflows on Advanced (xero.com and quickbooks.intuit.com, checked 2026-10-30).
Automate matching, approvals and exception handling
Aequo AP captures invoices, matches them to purchase orders and receipts, routes approvals and flags duplicates and exceptions, then syncs with QuickBooks Online, Xero, FreshBooks, Zoho Books or Business Central.
Related guides and comparisons
Sources
Checked on October 30, 2026. Vendor capabilities and prices change; confirm current details with each vendor.