Why do teams look for Tipalti alternatives?
Usually because of how Tipalti is priced, sold or scoped, as set out on Tipalti’s own pages.
- Tipalti’s AP plans start at $99 a month, but per-invoice and per-payment fees are added on top and the rates are not published. [source: Tipalti pricing]
- Tipalti says it does not offer a free tier, and its pricing page does not mention a trial. [source: Tipalti pricing]
- Procurement is a separately quoted add-on. [source: Tipalti pricing]
Tipalti and its alternatives compared
Pricing model, trial, purchase-order matching, accounting system coverage and target company size, side by side.
| Tool | Pricing | Free trial | PO and 3-way matching | ERP and accounting coverage | Built for |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| TipaltiGlobal payables platform | AP plans from $99 a month plus per-invoice and per-payment fees (rates not published); unlimited users [source: Tipalti pricing] | No free tier; no trial mentioned [source: Tipalti pricing] | 2- and 3-way PO matching listed in AP; Procurement is a quoted add-on [source: Tipalti pricing] | Lists QuickBooks Online, Xero, Business Central, NetSuite and Sage Intacct [source: Tipalti integrations] | Custom pricing for "mid-market and enterprise organizations"; pays in 200+ countries and territories [source: Tipalti pricing] |
| BILLBill pay and AP platform | $49 (Essentials), $65 (Team) or $89 (Corporate) per user a month; Enterprise custom; ACH $0.59, check $1.99 [source: BILL pricing] | "A free trial available in most cases"; length not stated [source: BILL pricing] | POs with 2-way matching on Corporate; 2- and 3-way matching on Enterprise; Procurement add-on on Essentials and Team [source: BILL pricing] | QuickBooks Online, Pro, Premier and Xero (CSV on Essentials, automatic 2-way sync from Team); NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics and others on Enterprise [source: BILL pricing] | Small businesses and midsize companies [source: BILL home page] |
| RampSpend management with bill pay | Free $0; Plus $15 per user a month plus a platform fee based on team size; Enterprise quoted [source: Ramp pricing] | Free plan; no trial stated [source: Ramp pricing] | 2-way and 3-way matching described on its AP page; Ramp-issued POs and 3-way match sit in the Procurement add-on (Plus and Enterprise) [source: Ramp accounts payable] | QuickBooks Online and Xero on Free; NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Business Central on Plus; also lists Zoho Books [source: Ramp pricing] | Small businesses, mid-sized companies and multi-entity organizations [source: Ramp accounts payable] |
| StampliAP automation suite | Quote only; no prices published [source: Stampli pricing] | Not mentioned on its pricing page [source: Stampli pricing] | "Semi-automated 2-3 way matching" listed as included [source: Stampli pricing] | "More than 70 cloud and on-premises ERPs", including QuickBooks Online, Business Central, NetSuite and Sage Intacct; Xero is not listed [source: Stampli integrations] | Company size not stated; "2,000+ customers" [source: Stampli home page] |
| MediusAP automation suite | Quote only (AP Essentials and AP 360) [source: Medius pricing] | Not mentioned [source: Medius pricing] | "Multi-way matching" in both packages [source: Medius pricing] | "100+ ERP connectors", including Business Central and NetSuite; QuickBooks Online and Xero are not listed [source: Medius, for your ERP] | Size not stated; AP 360 is for "organizations with greater scale, complexity, or growth ahead" [source: Medius pricing] |
| Aequo APAP automation (capture, matching, approvals) | $199 (Starter), $699 (Growth) or $1,999 (Scale) a month; Enterprise quoted; unlimited users, no per-transaction fees | 14-day free trial | 2-way matching on every plan; 3-way matching from Growth | QuickBooks Online, Xero, FreshBooks, Zoho Books and Business Central live; Oracle NetSuite and Sage Intacct in early access | SMB and mid-market finance teams |
Which alternative fits which team?
There is no single best choice; each tool is built for a different job.
- BILL: For domestic bill pay with per-user plans and published payment fees.
- Ramp: For cards, expenses and bill pay in one platform, with a free plan.
- Stampli: For mid-sized AP teams on one of its 70+ ERPs that buy through a quote.
- Medius: For larger finance teams that want an AP suite with supplier tools.
- Aequo AP: For mostly domestic teams that want capture, 3-way matching and approvals without usage fees.
When is Tipalti the better choice?
Stay with Tipalti, or choose it, if one of these describes you.
- You pay suppliers or payees across borders. Tipalti says it pays in 200+ countries and territories, in 120 currencies, by 50+ payment methods. [source: Tipalti home page]
- You run mass payouts to many payees; Tipalti sells Mass Payments plans from $249 a month. [source: Tipalti pricing]
- You need NetSuite or Sage Intacct connected today; Tipalti lists both. [source: Tipalti integrations]
When is Aequo AP not the right fit?
Aequo AP is AP automation for SMB and mid-market teams: capture, PO matching, approvals and exceptions. It is the wrong choice in these cases.
- Your main job is paying many suppliers or payees across borders, with tax-form collection and mass payouts. Aequo AP has no payout network.
- You want one tool that also pays vendors today. Aequo AP vendor payments are coming soon; until then you pay approved bills from your accounting system or bank.
- You need a generally available connector for an ERP other than QuickBooks Online, Xero, FreshBooks, Zoho Books and Business Central. Oracle NetSuite and Sage Intacct are in early access for selected teams, and Acumatica, SAP Business One and QuickBooks Desktop are in development.
Frequently asked questions
What are the best Tipalti alternatives?
The main Tipalti alternatives are BILL and Ramp, which also pay vendors and publish their payment fees, Stampli and Medius, which are quote-based AP suites, and Aequo AP, which focuses on invoice capture and matching at a flat price. If paying suppliers in many countries is the core job, Tipalti remains the specialist.
How much does Tipalti cost?
Tipalti lists AP plans starting at $99 a month and Mass Payments plans starting at $249 a month, both with unlimited users, plus per-invoice and per-payment transaction pricing it does not publish (tipalti.com/pricing, checked 2026-10-30).
Does Tipalti have a free trial?
Tipalti’s pricing page says it does not offer a free tier and does not mention a trial (checked 2026-10-30). Ramp and Melio have free plans; Aequo AP has a 14-day free trial.
Which Tipalti alternative is best for domestic AP?
For mostly domestic payments, BILL and Ramp are the closest payment-led options, and Stampli, Medius and Aequo AP focus on invoice processing and matching. Compare on whether you need the tool to move money, and on how each one prices users and transactions.
Does Tipalti integrate with QuickBooks Online and Xero?
Yes. Tipalti’s integrations page lists QuickBooks Online, Xero, Business Central, NetSuite and Sage Intacct (checked 2026-10-30). Aequo AP connects to QuickBooks Online, Xero, FreshBooks, Zoho Books and Business Central.
Automate matching, approvals and exception handling
Aequo AP captures invoices, matches them to purchase orders and receipts, routes approvals and flags duplicates and exceptions, then syncs with QuickBooks Online, Xero, FreshBooks, Zoho Books or Business Central.
Related guides and comparisons
- Aequo AP vs TipaltiHead-to-head comparison, feature by feature.
- Stampli alternativesStampli alternatives compared on pricing, trial, PO matching and ERP coverage.
- BILL alternativesBILL.com alternatives compared on pricing, trial, PO matching and ERP coverage.
- All comparisonsEvery head-to-head and alternatives page.
- Aequo AP pricingPlans, document volumes and what each includes.
Sources
Checked on October 30, 2026. Vendor capabilities and prices change; confirm current details with each vendor.