Skip to content

Comparison · AIA billing and pay applications

AIA billing software compared (2026)

AIA billing software produces G702/G703-style pay applications from a schedule of values and tracks retainage, change orders and lien waivers. The right tool depends on which side of the payment you are on: subcontractors billing GCs (Siteline, Knowify), GCs collecting sub pay apps (Procore, GCPay, Textura, Built), or contractors who need owner billing plus subcontractor AP in QuickBooks (Aequo Build).
Every vendor fact below comes from that vendor’s own website or support documentation, checked on 2026-10-21. Where a vendor’s pages are silent, we say “not stated” rather than guess. Aequo Build is our product.

Last updated · Aequo AP editorial team

AIA billing and pay app software at a glance

Pay-app portals (GCPay, Textura, Procore Pay, Built) are strongest at collecting subcontractor billings and waivers; subcontractor tools (Siteline, Knowify) at producing billings; Aequo Build at the GC’s QuickBooks-side AP plus owner pay applications.

ToolBuilt forPay applications / SOVQuickBooksPublished pricing
Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay)Procore Pay is designed for general contractors and owner-builders; subcontractors (payees) use free Procore accountsOwner and subcontractor invoices against schedules of values by billing period; subcontractors can add a detailed Subcontractor SOV; the legacy owner-invoice export generates an “Application and Certificate for Payment” PDFProcore-built QuickBooks Online connector (Plus, Advanced, Intuit Enterprise Suite) syncs projects, vendors, direct costs and subcontractor invoices as bills; does not sync commitments, prime contracts or budgets. Separate QuickBooks Desktop connector syncs commitments as purchase orders and subcontractor invoices as billsNot published (annual fee based on annual construction volume). Procore Pay publishes a subcontractor platform fee of 0.2% of commitment value, capped at $4,000 per commitment, under its default “SC pays” model
SitelineSubcontractors and trade contractors billing general contractors (the receivables side)Digitized versions of each GC’s own pay app and lien waiver forms; approved change orders added to the SOVLists QuickBooks Enterprise Contractor; QuickBooks Online not listedNot published (custom quote by usage, billing volume and integrations; unlimited users)
GCPayGeneral contractors in commercial, vertical and multifamily construction; subcontractors submit through itSubcontractor pay applications against a schedule of values; GCPay’s Sage Intacct marketplace listing states AIA-style owner billing is availableNot listed among GCPay integrationsNot published (custom, based on annual subcontracted volume, projects and subcontractors); subcontractors do not pay to use the software; e-payment and waiver exchange fee of $15 per payment, which the GC can absorb
Oracle Textura Payment ManagementGeneral contractors and owners; subcontractors join by invitationSubcontractors bill by schedule-of-values line, including stored materials and retentionNot listed among Oracle’s stated ERP integrationsGC pricing not published; Oracle’s store lists subcontractor fees of 0.22% of contract value and a flat $100 for lower-tier subcontractors and suppliers
Built TechnologiesLenders and owners for draws; payment management for general contractors and ownersCollects G702/G703-styled progress bills or one-time invoices from subcontractors and suppliers; vendors can bill only the remaining contract amount including approved change ordersLists QuickBooks Online and QuickBooks DesktopNot published
KnowifyTrade and specialty contractorsAIA billing on all tiers: automated schedules of values, retainage tracking and change order reconciliationQuickBooks Online on all tiers; QuickBooks Desktop on EnterprisePublished tiers starting at $99/month (Core, one user); Enterprise by quote
Aequo BuildGeneral and specialty contractors (the paying side of subcontractor and supplier invoices)AIA billing register: creates owner pay applications from the job’s schedule of values, with approved change orders, previous certificates and retainage, and generates a G702/G703-style PDFQuickBooks Online: imports vendors, bills and purchase orders and pushes approved bills back$599/month, published
Vendor pages checked 2026-10-21. Capabilities and prices change; confirm with each vendor.
ToolLien waiversRetainageApproval / AP automation
Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay)Procore Pay centralizes lien waivers and payment holds; unconditional waivers are released only after payment completesSet and release retainage on subcontractor invoices; retainage syncs to QuickBooks as a separate line itemInvoice approval workflows with conditional thresholds; overbilling prevention. OCR and three-way matching not stated
SitelineCreate, submit and track primary and vendor lien waivers; lien rights management add-onLists uncollected retention among the problems it addresses; detail not statedNot an AP tool — it is used to bill GCs, including submitting into GC portals
GCPayWaivers generated from pay app data; payment-exchange waivers held until payment clears; digital notaryRetainage, retainage release and partial release billingConfigurable pay app approval routing; can block payment to non-compliant subs; batch e-payments. OCR and three-way matching not stated
Oracle Textura Payment ManagementWaivers signed when invoicing, released after disbursement; sub-tier waivers; lien-waiver payment holds; e-notarizationLine-level or contract-level retention, with retention billingPM review and approval, compliance holds, electronic disbursement. OCR and three-way matching not stated
Built TechnologiesPrimary and lower-tier waivers, state statutory templates, waivers generated from payables, payment exchanged for signed waiversNot stated on vendor siteSequential and parallel approval workflows; ACH payments. OCR and three-way matching not stated
KnowifyNot stated on vendor siteRetainage tracking as part of AIA billingTwo-way sync of bills and expenses with QuickBooks; bill approval workflow and OCR not stated
Aequo BuildExplicit waiver requirements that hold payment until satisfied, with audited overrides; e-signature waiver requestsCalculated from the subcontract’s retention percentage when an invoice is approved, linked to that invoice, with release schedulesAI invoice capture, job and cost-code coding, three-way PO matching, approval routing, audit trail

How to choose AIA billing software

Decide first whether you are sending pay applications, receiving them, or both — then check the accounting system, who pays the fees, and how lien waivers are exchanged.

  1. Which side of the payment? Subcontractors need a billing (receivables) tool; GCs need to receive, approve and pay sub billings, and also bill owners.
  2. Your accounting system. Several GC portals list Sage, Viewpoint and CMiC but not QuickBooks. If you run QuickBooks Online, confirm a supported, current connector — not just a CSV export.
  3. Who pays. GCPay, Procore Pay and Textura publish fees that can fall on subcontractors; some subs price that into their bids.
  4. Waiver exchange. Check whether unconditional waivers are released only after payment clears and whether payment is actually blocked when a waiver is missing.
  5. Retainage. Look for per-line or per-contract rates, step-down schedules and a clean release workflow tied to the original invoices.
  6. Form requirements. If your contract requires the official AIA G702/G703, confirm the vendor can provide it or that the owner accepts a G702/G703-style equivalent.

Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay)

Construction management platform; Invoicing generates owner and subcontractor invoices, and Procore Pay handles payments and lien waiver exchange. Built for: procore Pay is designed for general contractors and owner-builders; subcontractors (payees) use free Procore accounts.

  • Pay apps / SOV: Owner and subcontractor invoices against schedules of values by billing period; subcontractors can add a detailed Subcontractor SOV; the legacy owner-invoice export generates an “Application and Certificate for Payment” PDF
  • Lien waivers: Procore Pay centralizes lien waivers and payment holds; unconditional waivers are released only after payment completes
  • Retainage: Set and release retainage on subcontractor invoices; retainage syncs to QuickBooks as a separate line item
  • QuickBooks: Procore-built QuickBooks Online connector (Plus, Advanced, Intuit Enterprise Suite) syncs projects, vendors, direct costs and subcontractor invoices as bills; does not sync commitments, prime contracts or budgets. Separate QuickBooks Desktop connector syncs commitments as purchase orders and subcontractor invoices as bills
  • Other integrations: Procore lists connectors for Sage 100 Contractor, Sage 300 CRE, Sage Intacct, Acumatica, NetSuite, CMiC, Xero, Yardi, MRI, Trimble Spectrum and Vista, Workday
  • Pricing: Not published (annual fee based on annual construction volume). Procore Pay publishes a subcontractor platform fee of 0.2% of commitment value, capped at $4,000 per commitment, under its default “SC pays” model

Siteline

Construction billing software for subcontractors. Built for: subcontractors and trade contractors billing general contractors (the receivables side).

  • Pay apps / SOV: Digitized versions of each GC’s own pay app and lien waiver forms; approved change orders added to the SOV
  • Lien waivers: Create, submit and track primary and vendor lien waivers; lien rights management add-on
  • Retainage: Lists uncollected retention among the problems it addresses; detail not stated
  • QuickBooks: Lists QuickBooks Enterprise Contractor; QuickBooks Online not listed
  • Other integrations: Sage 300 CRE, Sage 100 Contractor, Viewpoint Spectrum, Foundation, CMiC, ComputerEase, Sage Intacct, Acumatica, NetSuite; Oracle Textura as a GC portal
  • Pricing: Not published (custom quote by usage, billing volume and integrations; unlimited users)

GCPay

Automates the payment application process between general contractors and subcontractors. Built for: general contractors in commercial, vertical and multifamily construction; subcontractors submit through it.

  • Pay apps / SOV: Subcontractor pay applications against a schedule of values; GCPay’s Sage Intacct marketplace listing states AIA-style owner billing is available
  • Lien waivers: Waivers generated from pay app data; payment-exchange waivers held until payment clears; digital notary
  • Retainage: Retainage, retainage release and partial release billing
  • QuickBooks: Not listed among GCPay integrations
  • Other integrations: Sage 300 CRE, Sage 100 Contractor, Sage Intacct Construction, Viewpoint Vista, CMiC, Acumatica
  • Pricing: Not published (custom, based on annual subcontracted volume, projects and subcontractors); subcontractors do not pay to use the software; e-payment and waiver exchange fee of $15 per payment, which the GC can absorb

Oracle Textura Payment Management

Automates construction payment management for owners, GCs and subcontractors. Built for: general contractors and owners; subcontractors join by invitation.

  • Pay apps / SOV: Subcontractors bill by schedule-of-values line, including stored materials and retention
  • Lien waivers: Waivers signed when invoicing, released after disbursement; sub-tier waivers; lien-waiver payment holds; e-notarization
  • Retainage: Line-level or contract-level retention, with retention billing
  • QuickBooks: Not listed among Oracle’s stated ERP integrations
  • Other integrations: Oracle Fusion Cloud ERP, NetSuite, JD Edwards, CMiC, Sage, Viewpoint, Yardi, Acumatica
  • Pricing: GC pricing not published; Oracle’s store lists subcontractor fees of 0.22% of contract value and a flat $100 for lower-tier subcontractors and suppliers

Built Technologies

Real estate and construction finance platform (construction lending, draw and payment management). Built for: lenders and owners for draws; payment management for general contractors and owners.

  • Pay apps / SOV: Collects G702/G703-styled progress bills or one-time invoices from subcontractors and suppliers; vendors can bill only the remaining contract amount including approved change orders
  • Lien waivers: Primary and lower-tier waivers, state statutory templates, waivers generated from payables, payment exchanged for signed waivers
  • Retainage: Not stated on vendor site
  • QuickBooks: Lists QuickBooks Online and QuickBooks Desktop
  • Other integrations: Xero, Sage 100, Sage 300, DocuSign, Plaid
  • Pricing: Not published

Knowify

Project and service management software for the trades. Built for: trade and specialty contractors.

  • Pay apps / SOV: AIA billing on all tiers: automated schedules of values, retainage tracking and change order reconciliation
  • Lien waivers: Not stated on vendor site
  • Retainage: Retainage tracking as part of AIA billing
  • QuickBooks: QuickBooks Online on all tiers; QuickBooks Desktop on Enterprise
  • Other integrations: QuickBooks Time, Payroll and Payments; CompanyCam; Zapier
  • Pricing: Published tiers starting at $99/month (Core, one user); Enterprise by quote

Aequo Build

Aequo Build is construction accounts payable for contractors on QuickBooks Online, with an AIA billing register for owner pay applications.

  • Pay apps / SOV: AIA billing register: creates owner pay applications from the job’s schedule of values, with approved change orders, previous certificates and retainage, and generates a G702/G703-style PDF
  • Lien waivers: Explicit waiver requirements that hold payment until satisfied, with audited overrides; e-signature waiver requests
  • Retainage: Calculated from the subcontract’s retention percentage when an invoice is approved, linked to that invoice, with release schedules
  • AP automation: AI invoice capture, job and cost-code coding, three-way PO matching, approval routing, audit trail
  • QuickBooks: QuickBooks Online: imports vendors, bills and purchase orders and pushes approved bills back
  • Procore: Procore integration in development; not available today
  • Pricing: $599/month

See also: Aequo Build vs GCPay, vs Built and vs Vergo.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best AIA billing software for subcontractors?

Subcontractors billing general contractors usually need a receivables tool that fills each GC’s pay app and waiver forms and submits into GC portals; Siteline is built for that, and Knowify includes AIA billing for trade contractors on QuickBooks. If your GC requires its own portal (Procore Pay, GCPay or Textura), you bill there regardless.

What is the best AIA billing software for general contractors?

It depends on which side you are solving. To collect subcontractor pay apps and exchange lien waivers, GCs use portals such as Procore Invoicing and Pay, GCPay, Textura or Built. To bill owners and run subcontractor invoices through approval, retainage and QuickBooks, Aequo Build combines an AIA billing register with construction AP.

Can QuickBooks do AIA billing?

QuickBooks Online supports progress invoicing from an estimate. Intuit describes phase-based, AIA-style invoicing for QuickBooks Online Advanced with its Construction add-on. Many contractors still use a dedicated tool to produce G702/G703-style pay applications and post the result to QuickBooks.

Do AIA billing tools produce the official AIA G702 and G703 forms?

Most produce G702/G703-style applications or the GC’s own forms. The AIA documents are copyrighted and licensed by AIA Contract Documents, so check whether your contract requires the official form and whether a vendor is licensed to reproduce it.

How much does AIA billing software cost?

Most vendors in this category do not publish prices. Of those compared here, Knowify publishes tiers from $99/month and Aequo Build is $599/month. GCPay, Procore Pay and Oracle Textura publish fees charged per payment or to subcontractors; see the table for details.

Run subcontractor invoices, pay apps and retainage in one place

Aequo Build is construction accounts payable for contractors on QuickBooks Online: invoice capture, approvals, lien-waiver payment holds, invoice-linked retainage and an AIA-style billing register.

Sources

Checked on October 21, 2026. Vendor capabilities and prices change; confirm current details with each vendor.

  1. Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay): Procore Support — Invoicing
  2. Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay): Procore Support — Payments (Procore Pay)
  3. Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay): Procore — Procore Pay
  4. Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay): Procore Support — QuickBooks Online integration
  5. Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay): Procore Support — About the QuickBooks Desktop connector
  6. Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay): Procore Support — Supported ERP integrations
  7. Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay): Procore — Pricing
  8. Procore (Invoicing and Procore Pay): Procore Support — Procore Pay fee models
  9. Siteline: siteline.com
  10. Siteline: siteline.com/integrations
  11. Siteline: siteline.com/pricing
  12. GCPay: gcpay.com
  13. GCPay: GCPay — Integrations
  14. GCPay: GCPay — Pricing for general contractors
  15. GCPay: GCPay Help — Payment exchange waivers and e-payments
  16. GCPay: GCPay Help — Retainage release
  17. Oracle Textura Payment Management: Oracle — Textura ERP integration datasheet
  18. Oracle Textura Payment Management: Oracle — Subcontractor billing workflow guide
  19. Oracle Textura Payment Management: Oracle Store — Textura Payment Management
  20. Built Technologies: getbuilt.com
  21. Built Technologies: Built — Payment Management
  22. Built Technologies: Built — Lien waiver management
  23. Built Technologies: Built — QuickBooks integration
  24. Built Technologies: Built — Procore integration
  25. Built Technologies: Built — Accounts payable guide
  26. Knowify: knowify.com
  27. Knowify: knowify.com/pricing
  28. Aequo Build: aequoap.com/suite/build
  29. AIA Contract Documents — FAQ: copying AIA Contract Documents
  30. Intuit QuickBooks Support — Learn about project phases